Takeover Ad
Takeover Ad
2 April 2013

The fourth instalment in a sensational series of stories celebrating the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who is written by Philip Reeve, award-winning author of Mortal Engines, Here Lies Arthur and GOBLINS.

Speaking to DWO, Philip had the following to say on his upcoming title:

"It's been a great treat writing for The 4th Doctor and Leela. I've tried to include plenty of scarf and jelly baby action, a roll-on part for K9, and the sort of running around in corridors plot that made late 70s Saturday teatimes something to look forward to all week."


When the Fourth Doctor takes Leela to visit an immense tree space station known as the Heligan Structure, little do they know that the tree has been asleep for centuries, dreaming of vengeance against a man in a blue box...

As the tree awakes, the Time Lord and his companion soon discover why they are such unwelcome guests.

Eleven Doctors, eleven months, eleven stories: a year-long celebration of Doctor Who! The most exciting names in children's fiction each create their own unique adventure about the time-travelling Time Lord.

The Roots of Evil features The Fourth Doctor and Leela, with Reeve deliberately trying to "imagine a Saturday teatime, circa 1979".

About the author:

Born in Brighton, Philip Reeve worked as a full-time illustrator before turning to writing. His first novel, Mortal Engines, won the Nestlé Smarties Gold Award (2002), the Blue Peter Book of the Year Award, and was shortlisted for both the Branford Boase Award and the Whitbread Children's Book Award. He has since won many more awards and accolades.

+  The Roots Of Evil is released on 23rd April 2013, Priced £1.99.

+  Preorder this eBook on Amazon for £1.99.
+  Preorder this eBook from iTunes for £1.99.

+  Check Out Philip Reeve's Blog.

[Source: Puffin Books]

RSS Feed
News Key
News Home
The New Series
The Classic Series
Blog Entries
Reviews Key
Reviews Home
Books / Magazines
DVD / Blu-ray
Toys / Other
TV Episodes